Domaine Leflaive Macon-Verze 2006

img_5226I was pleased to find the 2006 edition of this wine at my local liquor shop the other day, as I remember the one from the stellar 2005 vintage as an absolute cracker. After reading the raving (95 points!) review by Wino sapien a few weeks ago, I decided to check things out myself. This light straw coloured wine shows a nose that runs through aromas of citrus, melon and ample stonefruit, all to be found back on a palate where round, somewhat plumb fatness is balanced by mineral-infused purity. There is no doubt that this wine is seriously good, made with integrity, authentic and true to its appellation, but I tend to prefer the leanness of the 2005Don’t get me wrong, this wine is still very good and absolutely worth every cent, it’s just my preference… hence 89 points.

Source: Negociants Australia  Price: $49  Drink: Now-2011

Web: www.leflaive.fr

Other vintages: 2005

Explore posts in the same categories: Burgundy, Chardonnay, France, Mâcon, Tasting Notes, Variety, Wine

2 Comments on “Domaine Leflaive Macon-Verze 2006”

  1. edward Says:

    Mo,

    Sounds like we both found similar attributes in the wine, with the main point of difference being numerical. Though we both use the 100 point scale I suspect I’m more generous in its application. For what it’s worth, I tried the 05 Leeuwin a day or two before (a wine I had also given 95 points too) and found it clumsy and overblown in comparison.

    Best wishes for the new year, I look forward to comparing notes again.

  2. winedome Says:

    Hi Ed,

    Best wishes too Ed, don’t get caught by the Credit Crisis bug, we’ve got to drink our way through! Regarding the scores, I think I scored the 2005 maybe too low, I mean it could easily have been 92-93, meaning I would have scored this one probably 1-2 point higher too. Anyway, I’m just fussy sometimes. Agree with you on the Leeuwin, it’s very good but no comparison to this style of Chardonnay. One Art Series a year is enough for me.


Leave a Reply

